PowerNet will have strong team for Tour of Southland

PowerNet will field a handy team in this year’s Tour of Southland.

After winning last year’s yellow jersey with Josh Atkins, PowerNet would love to finish off their tenure as the event’s major sponsor with another victory.

Former winner Heath Blackgrove will head a team which includes Ryan Wills, Shane Archbold, Cam Karwowski and Myron Simpson.

PowerNet are also hopeful of getting Southlander Tom Scully back, although his commitments have been complicated by his stagiare role with pro team Garmin.

It’s understood that if Scully is offered a professional contract to race in Europe he may not ride the Tour of Southland.

It’s rumoured that defending champion Atkins has withdrawn from the Calder Stewart team, where he was supposed to be riding alongside Hayden Roulston.

We’ve been told Roulston has been given the all clear by BikeNZ to ride the Tour of Southland despite his involvement appearing to contravene a UCI ruling about professional riders riding for non-trade teams.

We’ll keep you posted.


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: